Stock

Despite troubles with the interweb, I am still online in the office. Today I thought I would actually update my cooking blog because I’ve been thinking about it. I am making turkey stock today with the leftovers of the thanksgiving turkey. In full disclosure, I am using onions for the stock but they will be strained out of the finished broth. Today’s goal? Turkey with wild rice soup. I will be adapting the Better Homes and Gardens recipe.

I think most soup recipes are adapted as opposed to followed. There’s such a gamut of taste in broths and stocks that its silly to assume people make dishes exactly as the paper says. Stock is one of the easiest things in the world to make. Boil bones with veggies and herbs and spices for a long time. That’s about it. People who throw out chicken carcasses shock me heavily.

Anyhow, I was thinking about this here blog and wondering what I really want to do with it. I think it would be great to post culinary exploits, but I never think to take pictures of the food. Which is kind a vital part of blogging about food, really.

I would like to touch on that oft-neglected college world. I have seen tv shows and read books on college cooking and all seem to assume a college kid has a full service kitchen at their disposal. No. No they do not. Who does this stuff?

Published in: on December 6, 2008 at 6:13 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://noonions.wordpress.com/2008/12/06/stock/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

